All About Me

Posted on January 29, 2013

0


My Background

My name is Jenilee De La Fuente and I was born and raised in San Jose, CA. Currently, I am a Junior at San Jose State University. I’m the Director of Membership for PRSSA. PRSSA has given me amazing opportunities that have helped me gain confidence in pursuing a PR career. I also work as a Street Team member for San Jose Sharks Sports and Entertainment and post up print flyers around the San Francisco Bay Area regarding the San Jose Sharks and HP Pavillion events. Currently, I am also an PR intern for Lewis PR in San Francisco. Being an intern is such a great experience because you learn PR firsthand from talented, skilled individuals who help you manage accounts and work on projects in the most effective ways. On my free time, I love spending time with my family and friends. Moreover, dance is my stress reliever. I attend hip hop dance workshops every week with friends and former people I’ve danced with. Since the San Francisco Bay Area is such a culturally rich place to be, I constantly explore new places, events, and restaurants. I’m also a big pop-culture junkie and love exploring new movies and music.One thing I recently started to getting into is cooking. I used to see cooking as a tool you would need when you get married and have kids. Now, I see it as another form of art and a great way to improve a healthy way of life.

Major/Professional Aspirations

I am a Public Relations major and Radio, Television, and Film minor. Professionally, I hope to incorporate entertainment brands and public relations in my career. I want to do public relations for movies and television. Some of the companies I am keeping my eye on is Disney, Sony Pictures, and NBCUniversal. If anything, I would also like to intern at PMK BNC, which is the leading entertainment marketing agency based in Los Angeles.

Strengths and Weaknesses As A Writer

As a writer, I pride myself on my vocabulary, skill to synthesize my piece of work to fully convey my message, and flow. However, my weaknesses entail organization and verbosity. In terms of grammar and editing, I hope to gain a better sense of becoming more detail-oriented. Last but not least, I also want to work on not being too wordy and intuitively knowing what to cut out.

Posted in: Uncategorized